PDA

View Full Version : First three SNGs

fujowpai
10-21-2004, 05:20 PM
I'm completely new to tournament play of any kind. To dip my toe in, I've played three 5/1 single-table games at Party. In two of the three games, there was an early all-in suicide pact (not including me, of course) and the guy with the empty chamber had a huge stack advantage until sometime in level 4 or 5. Is this common in most tourney structures and levels?

I noticed that if you make a play sometime early on, but end up having to lay it down, you're in bad shape going into level 4 as the blinds will now eat up 1/4-1/3 of your stack, not leaving much wiggle room. Paying for levels 1-4 costs 37% of your starting stack as it is. Is this what encourages the kamikazee plays in the early levels?

Eric

Baked67
10-21-2004, 05:41 PM
I'd say it would have more to do with the total lack of skill that alot of players possess at this level...Going all in w/out AA or KK early on in a 5 dollar tournament is not well advised. Play tight early on and switch gears and get aggressive at level 4 or 5...I recomend you check out the FAQ at the top of this forum for some good strategy on Sit N Go's...Also, check out MJ's Party Poker Strategy Guide (http://teamfu.freeshell.org/tournament/no_limit_sng.html) site for another excelent strategy guide.

Follow these guides and you will be profitting in no time...

fujowpai
10-21-2004, 06:05 PM
Thanks for the response. I'm not worried about my play. I'm merely interesting in the influence of structure on playing decisions, particularly those of other players. What should I expect to vary in typical play in various structures and levels?

top6
10-21-2004, 08:32 PM
Why wouldn't you go all-in with AA or KK if you thought you were going to get callers? At a $5, $10 or $10,000 SNG?

lastchance
10-21-2004, 08:45 PM
I think that people are stupid enough at this level for an argument to be made for going in with QQ and AKs as well, especially QQ.

top6
10-21-2004, 08:49 PM