PDA

View Full Version : Raising on the turn,,

trumpman84
10-20-2004, 01:41 PM
I'm relatively new to limit hold 'em so I'm just wondering.

If you have position on someone and they bet into you on the flop, is it ever not correct to raise on the turn with top 2 pair or better given that you didnt raise before the flop?

I understand that you want to raise to clear off more people, but the only people you are clearing off are people who probably need runner runner help in order to beat your hand and you want them to stay. Also, hands you don't want sticking around like OESD, flush draws are probably coming along anyway, along with anybody who's already called one bet, so it's not as if your giving a free card, and you can wait til the turn to give away your hand and get them all for two big bets. Am I wrong with my reasoning here?

Aaron W.
10-20-2004, 02:56 PM
[ QUOTE ]
If you have position on someone and they bet into you on the flop, is it ever not correct to raise on the turn with top 2 pair or better given that you didnt raise before the flop?

[/ QUOTE ]

I assume that when you say "raise on the turn" you really mean "raise on the flop". The answer to almost any unconditional statements is a flat no.

With a set and a small field (say three players), a reasonable argument can be made to wait until the turn to raise, especially if the board doesn't have many draws on it and your opponents tend to get scared easily.