PDA

View Full Version : Open Ended Royal Flush Draw -- How bad was my play?

O Doyle Rules
10-19-2004, 02:54 PM
I am new to the NL game. The results were good on this hand, but I'm now second guessing myself on it. How is my play? Can I lay this hand down? Thanks to all who respond.

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em, $1 BB (8 handed)

UTG+1 ($36.85)
MP1 ($43.50)
MP2 ($70.05)
CO ($15.40)
Button ($65.85)
SB ($80.10)
Hero ($104.75)
UTG ($44.80)

Preflop: Hero is BB with K/images/graemlins/spade.gif, J/images/graemlins/spade.gif.
UTG folds, UTG+1 folds, MP1 folds, MP2 folds, CO folds, Button folds, SB completes, Hero checks.

Flop: ($2) Q/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, Q/images/graemlins/spade.gif, T/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="blue">(2 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="CC3333">Hero bets $2</font>, <font color="CC3333">SB raises to $4</font>, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises to $6</font>, <font color="CC3333">SB raises to $25</font>, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises to $103.75 (All-In)</font>, SB calls $54.10 (All-In).

Turn: ($184.85) 7/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="blue">(2 players, 2 all-in)</font>

River: ($184.85) 9/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="blue">(2 players, 2 all-in)</font>

Final Pot: $184.85

Results in white below: <font color="white">
SB has 5s Qh (three of a kind, queens).
Hero has Ks Js (straight, king high).
Outcome: Hero wins $184.85. </font>

TheGrifter
10-19-2004, 03:02 PM
I haven't looked at the results, but here is my take.

You should've folded when the SB raised to 25 dollars. He's showing a LOT of strength here and has at least trip queens. The fact is, you're a dog here nearly all of the time and the pot is still small. It's tough to fold a big hand like this, but it's the right play.

ipp147
10-19-2004, 03:06 PM
Hi O Doyle,

I'm fairly new myself but...when he raises you $25 on the flop he's saying he has a queen. You have the 2nd nut flush and an OESD.