PDA

View Full Version : What to invest in? Poker Tracker, some books?

ChessMan
10-18-2004, 01:19 PM
Hi,

I've been playing since July 2004. I've turned a profit of over $1200 (I estimate $1400) not including bonuses. Perhaps I'm a profitable player and should invest in a good book and perhaps poker tracker too.

Since I've been recording my results, I show that I've played over 500 no-limit tournaments (20 seat sit and goes) for a profit of $950, and I've played 1500 hands at limit cash tables for profit of $264. The tournament records are almost complete, but the cash table records are missing another 500 hands or so that were certainly profitable but I didn't record the results.

I started out playing the tournaments, but recently I've played mostly the limit cash tables. I find that you have time to get a read on some of the players; unlike a tourmament where you might get knocked out before you realize "CrazyManiac" likes to seriously overbet his hand.

So I think I'd like to learn to improve at low-limit hold em. My bankroll is large enough to play $1/$2 to $2/$4.

I know poker tracker is good and that is on my "to buy" list.

A few suggestions for good books would be appreciated. Please include a sentence about why this or that book is good so I can make an informed decision. I want to buy only one for now (I am a believer in reading a book before buying the next one). Thanks a bunch!

wacki
10-18-2004, 03:59 PM
Buy Ed Millers book. The title of the book should be more than enough explanation. The only other book worth looking at right now is:

Winning Low-Limit Hold'em (2nd Edition)
by Lee Jones

Both are good, they are different styles, but both are good.

ChessMan
10-18-2004, 08:45 PM
I found Edward Miller's Small Stakes Holdem: Winning Big with Expert Play. Is this the one you mean? Also, I save on shipping if I order two books. I guess I can buy two for this special reason.