PDA

View Full Version : Doubling the Blinds...

Go Blue
10-16-2004, 01:06 AM
I started playing on Pacific Poker a little, just to try it out. In general, I think the site sucks for all reasons other than having many players on it. Well here's my question: I noticed that, while true in general, I have noticed this to happen on Pacific MUCH more: People just raise the minimum. Now, I know that in some cases this is appropriate and I do this myself sometimes too, espcially if I want to raise the blinds in early position, but I see people raising the minimum so often after several people have limped in. This, in my opinoin, is very annoying especially when the blinds grow to a decent amount. I have seen, in multi table tourneys, and blinds being about 100/200 or so, people who are on the BB, raising to 400 after maybe 4 or 5 people limped. What's the deal? I don't get it. Why would people do this? They usually wind up giving the hand up on the flop anyway. I can understand such a move if you hold pockets, to try and build the pot for a big payoff if you hit, but this makes no sense to me to make such a move when the blinds are in the range of 50/100 and up.

Percula
10-16-2004, 05:13 AM
I play a lot of MTT SnG on Pacfic, make some good coin too. /images/graemlins/wink.gif

What I have noticed...

1) 90%+ of the players there have no clue as to betting and raising, either in ammount or what to do it with or when to do it.

2) More than the minimum raise will often set off a wild exchange of all-ins where you have 3-6 people all-in. This is generally in the early stages and less so in the later stages, but still can happen. So if you make a 3x-5x BB raise fully expect to have at least one person go all-in on you.

3) When you wittle down the field, you will start to get into better players and many of them can laydown to a 3x-6x BB raise, but see #2...