PDA

View Full Version : TJ's Omaha PL Starting Hands

05-10-2002, 08:01 PM
Are TJ's starting cards too restrictive? I played live for the first time today at the Binion's 5/5 Omaha game. I played for 4 hours and hardly played a hand as TJ says you should never play a hand with even one uncoordinated card. Is this correct, especially when you can limp in near the button with several callers for only 5?

I watched the 25/50 PL game and these guys were betting huge sums on hands with danglers making me think that TJ might be too restrictive?

Any thoughts?

05-10-2002, 10:34 PM
do you really think that tj's book is applicable to every pot limit game played in the world?

05-11-2002, 01:08 AM
I don't know - hence the question. I am new to the game. I am sure that you need to adjust your game according to how the table is playing.

However, there are some absolutes. For example, you never play 7,2off in a holdem game upfront. Maybe never playing a hand with a dangler in PL Omaha is an absolute. TJ sure states it like an absolute.

05-11-2002, 01:34 AM
"For example, you never play 7,2off in a holdem game upfront"

not even for advertising purposes /images/smile.gif and does this mean you play it around back !?

i'm not one to argue with tj (outstanding book), but if the players in your game are playing crap then you can loosen up and still be getting the best of it. but stick to hands that you can bet hard if you flop right, especially suited aces with two big cards.

05-11-2002, 10:32 AM
Actually, you can play 7,2off around back on some occassions. For example, you can raise with it on the button to steal from extremely tight blinds or in the SB to steal from the BB.

05-11-2002, 02:54 PM
but if the players in your game are playing crap then you can loosen up and still be getting the best of it.