PDA

View Full Version : My first 100 $10+1 SNG's

Virox
10-15-2004, 01:51 PM
So now I’ve played my first 100 NL SNG’s $10+1 and here are my thoughts of it.

I’ve been a limit player before and played over 10.000 hands at Paradise (5,5bb/100 hands) and some on other sites. But I found SNG’s to be much more exciting and fun.

I really started out on a hot streak and was killing the games at Paradise.

Paradise 47 SNG’s
ROI 68%
ITM 53%

The problem with Paradise is that you can only play at one SNG table at a time so I started playing on Party instead.

Party 53 SNG’s
ROI 6%
ITM 37%

Here I had an horrible run, it took me 30 games before I finished in first place… I guess some of it was bad luch but the Party structure is also very different; you start with less chips and with higher blinds. Both bad for the experienced player. Does anybody else have this experience that their ROI is higher at Paradise than Party? And if so, how much should I expect the difference to be?

My stats for all the games look like this:

Total
ROI 35,5%
ITM 45%

I guess 35% ROI are probably okey but I would feel much more confident moving up if my Party ROI wasn’t at 6%!!! From now on I will probably play one $20+2 and two $10+1 until I become confident at the $20+2 level.

I basically play after “ABC SnG poker: AleoMagus´ how to beat 10+1”. But it can off course not cover all situations so here are some thougts. I had seven 4th place finishes in 53 SNG’s at Party so maybe I’m doing some things wrong…

1. Calling min-raises on the bubble?
If I’m the Big Blind I really don’t like to fold when the Button min-raises except when I have an absolutely crap hand. But what about on the bubble? Button has been min-raising about 50% of hands…

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t100 (4 handed)

UTG (t1995)
Button (t3508)
Hero (t1405)
BB (t1092)

Preflop: Hero is SB with 8/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, T/images/graemlins/club.gif. Hero posts a blind of t100.