PDA

View Full Version : Correct to overbet?

04-21-2002, 10:36 AM
I'm very new to NL and curious about a hand I played in .10-.25 NL online.

I'm on the button with AQs. MP limper (stack $20), another MP limper (stack about $11) to me. I raise to $1 (my stack=$23). BB (stack=$19) calls, both limpers call. I figured my raise would thin things a bit, but no luck. Should I have bet more? Less? Why?

Flop is Q 6 4 rainbow. BB checks, MP1 checks, MP2 bets $1 into a $4.10 pot. I figure this is the flop I wanted--I really only fear 66 or 44, right? I don't want to play against three players, I'd just as soon take this one now (correct strategy?). So, I raise $5 (the size of the pot). BB and MP1 fold. MP2 calls, leaving him with $4.

Turn is 9 of a different suit. MP2 checks and I put him all in for $4. He calls.

River is a K. He shows K6 and takes it down.

Primarily, I'm wondering about the flop. Should I have overbet the pot here? I can't believe he called a $5 raise with mid pair, so I'm wondering if another $4 would have made any difference? Was I just unlucky, or did I leave the door open somewhere when I should have slammed it shut?

Thanks in advance for any responses!

04-21-2002, 11:29 AM
His call was wrong, so you wanted him to make it.

Would you rather overbet the pot and get him to make a correct fold, or make a bet that he'll incorrectly call?

I promise you your expectation is higher if he makes the incorrect play rather than the correct one.

Later, Greg Raymer (FossilMan)

04-21-2002, 06:17 PM
You played the hand perfectly and got your money in as a 3:1 favorite while making your opponent pot stuck (and thereby denying him any implied odds). That fact that he hit his 5-outer on the river is completely irrelevant.

> [preflop] Should I have bet more? Less? Why?