PDA

View Full Version : HU Hand

RacersEdge
10-13-2004, 10:00 PM
I think I played this hand exactly wrong. This raise commits me to the pot - a 3BB raise lets me out of the hand easy. If not a 3BB, all-in is probably another (better?) option. Opinions?

Party Poker No-Limit Hold'em Tourney, Big Blind is t300 (2 handed)

Hero (t2905)
Button (t5095)

Preflop: Hero is BB with J/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, T/images/graemlins/club.gif.
Button calls t150, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises to t1500</font>, <font color="CC3333">Button raises to t3000</font>, Hero calls t1405 (All-In).

Flop: (t5905) J/images/graemlins/heart.gif, A/images/graemlins/heart.gif, K/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="blue">(2 players, 1 all-in)</font>

Turn: (t5905) J/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="blue">(2 players, 1 all-in)</font>

River: (t5905) Q/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="blue">(2 players, 1 all-in)</font>

Final Pot: t5905

willperkins
10-13-2004, 10:04 PM
I'm no expert and would bow to others but you played exactly the same way I would have played. Given the amoount of chips you have and the size of the blinds, I too would have raised t1500 and called his all in bet.
I look forward to advice from players better than I am.

lastchance
10-13-2004, 10:25 PM
Don't make pot-committing raises without going all-in. Very simple, very basic strategy.

3x BB works, but either way, if I decided to raise, I'd raise as much as I could knowing that I could fold to an all-in. I would also do this with KK, AA, QQ, JJ, TT, AK, AQ, and I would call the all-in then.

That, or you can just go all-in, but I don't think that's the correct play just yet.

Either way, I would never raise half my stack. There is no possible reason to raise half your stack.

RacersEdge
10-13-2004, 10:59 PM
I'm with you.