PDA

View Full Version : Too anxious to play, improve and move up

MyssGuy
10-13-2004, 11:48 AM
This is my unofficial first post, so I'll make a quick intro. I've been playing for a few years on/off, but have become a big study of Holdem in the past 18 months. In April, I received a free $20 to return to Party after a long absence. In 4 months, I turned that original $20 to nearly $2000. This was accomplished by focusing on .5/1 limit, then up to 1/2 when my bankroll hit 300BB. A few re-load bonuses helped.

In June/July, I started playing NL SnGs. Had some early success that pushed my bankroll up quickly. By September, I felt very confident in my SnG game and became bored with the grind of limit games. I tried to make Sept a big month and focus on SnG games. My early success turned on me. I started with some bad beats which turned into tilt. After much review, I found I became too aggressive and fell into FPS. Sept was my first lossing month, all good runs come to an end. But I lost 1/4 of my BR.

I learned to leave SnG alone until I got my tilt under control. However, I discovered Short-Handed games and again found early success with an aggressive strategy. Unfortunately that changed.

I've come to the realization that I need to go back to the grind of 2/4 limit (full ring) and get my bankroll back to where I want it. However, leaving the SnG and SH games, I lose the feeling of action. Yes, I'm an action junkie. I know I got to where I'm at by grinding it out at the lower limit tables til my BR got higher.

So my post/question/comments are: how or do I try to satisfy the action in me or do I grind out the 2/4 tables and move up? I feel that once I hit the 5/10 limit, the ups and downs in winnings ($$) will satisfy me. Playing for 3 hours at 2/4 and winning $25 just doesn't feel as satisfying as it used to. But maybe when I get to 5/10, I won't feel the same there with a $100 win.