PDA

View Full Version : Total beginner here couple of questions.

Radio
10-13-2004, 10:15 AM
Hi im quite new to poker and have been playing on ladbrokes poker rooms at the micro limit tables. I plan on buying the internet hold'em book as my first book then go from their. I have'nt quite got a full grasp of the maths and odds yet or all the poker slang. But iv managed to atleast break even while playing on ladbrokes. My first question is this: Iv been using texas calculatem poker calculator to help me asses my chances on each hand. Is this a good program for a beginner to use while not fully grasping the maths of the game yet? Also it provides you with percentages like 65% chance does this mean that its saying the hand will win 65% of the time?

I have also had the following conversation on another forum, what do u make of what he is saying?

"I have won a good amount of money online. I am a bit apprehensive as of late, however, with the multitude of uncanny beats that I have taken. I do believe that on multiple occasions I have run into players utilizing programs such as Vexbot which, imo, have made online poker a very risky means of playing Hold 'Em"

me : "what the hell is vexbot?"

him : "It is a program designed to beat human beings at the game of Texas Hold 'Em.

Have a look at the link here:

http://www.poki-poker.com/history.html "

me: "I just did a search on it, from what i can make out its a poker trainner that u play against to improve your game. U cant use this in online games to win yourself money can u? I mean surly the big companys like ladbrokes ect would be able to detect such software or every one would be doing it. How woudl they use such a program to beat u at poker if uv run up against them? And if so why dont u use it also"

him:"Go to my above link. As far as using it, yes, you can and people do, quite effectively I might add."

me : ?