PDA

View Full Version : How to go from third to first

CraigJ
10-12-2004, 10:39 AM
I am fairly new to poker and have been playing the $5 single table tournaments on Party Poker. I usually play conservative, playing only the 13 pairs, A-K, A-Q, and occasionally an A-x suited. When I do get one of these pairs I think I play pretty agressive raising and reraising before and after the flop.

This works out fairly well. I would say 70-75 percent of the time I can at least come in third and get in the money. Occasionally I may pull off a second. But I have yet to get a first. My chip stack is usually way too small.

But what gets me is its usually the inexperienced players on the table who get a lot of the chips and on the $5 table you see a lot of bad players. But if two bad players are going head to head one bad player is going to get the chips and usually a lot of them.

Or sometimes they just make bad plays and get VERY lucky. I saw a guy go all in with K-K before the flop and was called by someone with a 3-2. But guess who won? Plus he went on to win the entire tournament because his chip stack was so big after that one.

So again my question is how do you go from a consistent third to first and what do you do about the bad players throwing their chips around and giving other bad players a lot of chips?

CraigJ
10-12-2004, 10:41 AM
I also forgot to mention I ususally paly no-limit.

Unarmed
10-12-2004, 10:47 AM
Be patient.
Steal (3xBB raises normally are fine) like a thief 3, 4, and 5 handed. (take notes on who will defend their blind, target those who won't)
Add suited connectors to your playable hands on the early rounds with position and you'll be the one doubling up early.

ilya
10-12-2004, 11:46 AM