PDA

View Full Version : Yet another NL Question

03-18-2002, 01:28 AM
Lets say there is a player making a standard $3 raise with blinds .50/1 everytime he comes in... Flops are usually 3 handed regardless. What hands should you play in this situation if you are in middle and late position?

Question 2. How much should I raise in late positions with pairs such as Queens, Jacks, or Tens assuming everyone has folded to me, or I have only one limper. I want the blinds to pay to play, yet at the same time, I dont want to make a small raise that they'll call with Axs. Any help is appreciated. SOrry if these quesitons are dumb, i am a certified newbie. These games refer to the new paradise NL games.

03-18-2002, 03:37 AM
1. If a player is making it $3 on a lot of hands this is not a good game for a beginner. Play a game where you can see most flops cheaply. Play pairs trying to flop a set if a few others have entered, and small suited connectors (78 and below) are good too. Stay away from AJ, KQ and the like. The problem is that this player will no doubt apply pressure, and unless you are able to make sizeable bluffs, he will lean on you but is unlikely to pay off your good hands.

2. Nothing wrong with just winning the blinds. Tens and Jacks are the 2 most difficult to play hands in NL, queens being the hardest. Make a decent raise to maybe $3 and see what comes on the flop, if they check to you bet the pot pretty much no matter what comes. If you are in doubt it is usually better to bet.

03-18-2002, 01:55 PM
If they lean on me, and I have position, wouldn't it be right to occassionally make a substantial raise that they would not be able to call. Obviously I would do this with a draw of some kind, or at least a pair. I am a winning player in ring and paradise, but i rather not give away my handle there. But I am very experienced at no limit. Suited connectors and pairs are good to play at this point am I correct?

03-18-2002, 02:00 PM