PDA

View Full Version : Tournament resources

Homans
10-10-2004, 10:49 AM
I'm new to this, so sorry if this has been asked before. If so, please respond with a link.

Any recommendations on books regarding tournament play? My experience level is beginner.

Rooster71
10-10-2004, 03:07 PM
[ QUOTE ]
I'm new to this, so sorry if this has been asked before. If so, please respond with a link.

Any recommendations on books regarding tournament play? My experience level is beginner.

[/ QUOTE ]
In my opinion, Tournament Poker for Advanced Players is by far the best book written on tournament theory. It's not exactly for beginners, but if you read it over and over to the point of understanding it will work for you.

Rooster71
10-10-2004, 03:08 PM
Also I would recommend checking the "Books/Software" section of this forum.

MLG
10-10-2004, 03:31 PM
better than a book, read all the old posts by greg (fossilman). Until his book comes out this is the best way to improve your game in my opinion. Also keep reading this forum, occasionally we have some really good stuff here.

beachbum
10-10-2004, 05:31 PM
Read posts by MLG, Sossman, davidross, EmarkM, Che, and some of the other successful tourney players too. (sorry to those I didn't mention specifically)

shaniac
10-10-2004, 05:58 PM
Before, or shortly after, reading any poker book about tournaments, I recomend doing this first:

Search for anything and everything you can find that was written about tournament poker by Paul Phillips and Greg "FossilMan" Raymer. Their online contributions to tournament theory dwarfs that made by any one book on the subject, and probably edges out the cumulative knowledge contained in all the tournament books on the market.

Sklanksy's book has some good concepts, but I always find his writing a bit tough to chew on.

Cloutier's book is severely flawed in my opinion and in the opinion of a lot of decent tournament players. I highly doubt he wins as much as he does playing the way he advocates.