PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advice.

02-24-2002, 06:47 PM
I've never played pot-limt Hold 'em, but am thinking about trying it out. The game has a 5-10 blind structure. I've been succesful at ring games in the 6-12 to 15-30 range. How should I adjust my play to this type of game?

02-24-2002, 07:39 PM
Buy the book by Ciaffone, and study it well.

Then pray that the learning curve doesn't break you.

5,10 blinds is a pretty big game. I've seen single pots with over $10,000 in them at this level and even below. I've seen people win or lose the same amount in a session many times.

Be prepared for swings like this, as they will occur.

Later, Greg Raymer (FossilMan)

02-24-2002, 08:23 PM
Ouch!! Is there a better way to gain experience?

02-24-2002, 08:25 PM
Simple, but great post, greg....ty; very to the point...

i am also relatively new to pot limit, and I initally wasn't prepared for the swings of the game... Even in a 2-2 blind game, just one hand is easily capable of snapping a $200 table stake(i learned this the hard way). Compare that to a 5-10 limit game; at worst you may lose 1/2 of that stake in one hand, and that would be a very very rare case.

02-24-2002, 10:22 PM
Absolutely. Online is a great place. Poker Stars offers micro-limit pot games. Good luck.

02-24-2002, 10:26 PM
The Psychology of pot-limit play is very different than limit. Aggression and bullying opponents are more important aspects of play along with a host of other aspects you will need to learn. And you MUST be prepared to lose your entire stack on one hand. The other players will test you on this, especially if you are new to the game. This does not mean that you should throw your money in on a whim, but that the other players will be looking for spots to see if you are capable of playing in "their game".