PDA

View Full Version : WLLHE by Lee Jones

kurosh
10-09-2004, 03:10 AM
To what limits on party does this book apply? (winning low limit hold'em by lee jones)

Ajax410
10-09-2004, 04:41 AM
None?

WLLHE is a great book to read if you want to learn how to play Limit Hold'em and not pay a lot of money in doing so. It will teach you a weak brand of poker that is far to tight to maximize profits at any level.

You will make money playing truly tight at any level where the opponents are too busy looking at their own cards to make reads on you - this situation probably exists up through 3/6 - but if you want to make the most money you're capable of, the strategies put forth in WNLLHE will never be truly effective.

Naykedmage
10-09-2004, 05:19 AM
Which book do you suggest? SSH? I have read both and am just curious which book you suggest to step beyond WLLH.

Ajax410
10-09-2004, 05:27 AM
I will answer this post by telling a story.

When I started playing limit, it was at 2/4 with a $600 bankroll at the sage advice of a friend who was killing the 2/4 game. 1-2 Weeks and $450 richer, I moved to 3/6. 4 days and $1150 poorer I bought Theory of Poker, SSHE, and WLLHE.

WLLHE appeals to a scared mindset. After losing a lot of money (sometimes due to bad play, sometimes due to excessive bad beats), I was definitly in a scared mindset. In my first few sessions of poker - about 2 weeks after my personal Great Depression - I subscribed almost exclusively to WLLHE's points. WRONG. WLLHE puts forth ideas that will end up leaving money on the table when you get up to leave. The fact is, it is SCARED poker. It is a GREAT book to read if you're just learning how to play - it gives you guidelines that will let you learn as you go - but it will not have you playing effective poker.