PDA

View Full Version : Wimpy PLO Play?

01-23-2002, 02:27 PM
Pot limit home game, 10-10 blinds. Early in evening, everyone buys in for $500. I have about $700.

On turn, board is 3-5-10-J, two spades.

I have 8-10-J-K, with King high spade flush draw on button.

BB bets (tricky, aggressive player) pot, $125. Do I raise or just call? I called.

Queen of spades came on river, giving me second nut hand.

BB checks.

I'm not very experienced at PL/NL play, but it seems that I could very easily be falling into a trap if I bet. In limit, I'd fire away. However, PL is a different story.

I checked and won. BB high baby flush as well as two pair.

Comments?

Tom

01-23-2002, 04:37 PM
I think this may be one of those situations where if you bet, you only get called if you are beat. If you aren't beat, then he folds or raises. Milking some more money out of this hand is more of a limit concept. If you had said BB was a Go Off Artist, instead of tricky/agressive, you might have considered a bet on the end.

As a side note, when you called on 4th street, what did you think the situation was?

01-23-2002, 04:44 PM
you must understand thinking here. would he have bet draws or smaller two pairs into you. if yes then raise all you can.

on the end since he bet on fourth street its less likely he had just a draw. so its more likely his draw was not to the nuts. plus since he led on fourth street he would bet the river as it makes it harder for you to put him on the nuts. plus after betting he is less likely to get bet at unless its a bluff, so he is more likely to bet if he had the nuts. so when he checks you should certainly bet. as he may call with weak hands hoping to catch a bluff or hands he didnt want to bet with but will call with.

plus if you dont bet here that means you only bet with the nuts. so who would ever call you.

01-23-2002, 04:49 PM