PDA

View Full Version : How do you manage your bankroll?

el_grande
10-07-2004, 04:53 PM
OK, I'm familiar with the 300BB bankroll idea. I use it. Well, maybe I use more like 200BB, but I play on party. :-)
Mathematically, 300BB is supposed to keep you afloat as long as you are playing fairly well.

Let's say you move up a level. I just did this. I started with $100 at party playing $.5/$1 and ran it up to $500, where I switched to $1/$2. Now I just started playing $2/$4 and my BR is 300BB for that.

I would not have started playing $2/$4 with 150BB, so what happens if I go on a horrible streak and drop to 150BB? I'd be in a situation where I'm playing a game too rich for my BR. So if you were in this situation, would you drop down a level? How low do you have to get to do this?

Is there a modification to the simple 300BB rule where you regress to previous levels when you hit a certain BR? Should there be?

cocarondelle
10-07-2004, 05:34 PM
one time i was up to 400 dollars and then dropped to 315. i got pissed so tried my luck at blackjack and dropped back down to 140. now im hovering around 300. So i guess not playing blackjack when your down on your luck is one way to manage bankroll /images/graemlins/smile.gif

SomethingClever
10-07-2004, 05:38 PM
I don't know if there's a hard-and-fast rule that people stick to, but if I had 300 BB at a level, and I dropped 150 BB, yes, I'd drop down.

Jaquen H'gar
10-07-2004, 11:51 PM
If 300 BB's is the "optimal" bankroll (an assumption I don't necessarily hold), then for optimal growth of the bankroll, one should continually resize their bets to match their changing bankroll. i.e., if the bankroll drops by 50%, then the bets should drop by 50%. If the bankroll grows by 50%, then the bets should increase by 50%. Ideally, this changing of bets should occur after every session but of course this isn't practical since betting limits are predefined - $.50, $1, $2, $3, $5, etc.