PDA

View Full Version : profitable no limit starting hands

01-18-2002, 05:03 PM
I'm a beginner and just started playing no limit on Pokerstars. Which are the most profitable hands? Also, should I buy in with small/medium or large stacks?

01-18-2002, 05:19 PM
Give me AA/KK everytime. Now in these low limit NL games I like any pair & suited connectors. Flop a set/straight and you can win a nice pot.

I would recommend a large stack. I assume that is $25 for the .10-.25 but I have only played UB. I see people buying in for 5 or 10 and when they raise they have no ability to scare off the callers.

Ken Poklitar

ohKanada@hotmail.com

01-18-2002, 06:22 PM
Thanks Ken,

Also, how AA/KK pre-flop should be played pre-flop? By what amount should I raise?

01-18-2002, 06:42 PM
There are many different raising styles in NL. In these .10-.25 games you will see all those and more. You will see some raise to .50, others to 1.00, others to 2.00 and others make larger bets.

I don't like the mini-raise. I tend to raise to 1.50 - 2.00 based on # of limpers. I do this for all hands that I raise with. So if I raise with AA or 66 or 98s I would make the same raise.

Find something that works for yourself. Just remember that opponents are watching your raises and the cards you showdown.

Ken Poklitar

ohKanada@hotmail.com

01-18-2002, 09:27 PM
A raise to $2 is fairly normal, but if more people are in then a larger raise is in order. And a reraise should always be a significant reraise. If someone makes it $2 you make it $8, not $4. If anyone calls in the middle then a bigger bet is in order.