PDA

View Full Version : Omaha 8: Basics for pot-limit

01-16-2002, 01:27 PM
I'm relatively new to pot-limit, but have played many years of limit O8. There doesn't seem to be a lot of books on PL O8. I started playing recently on UB and an occassional pot-limit home game. I could use some help on a few common issues, specifically differences between pot-limit and limit:

1. Is there much difference in starting hand requirements for entering a pot? How about raising preflop? I see a number of people raising a bare AA, but I wouldn't do this myself. I've confined my raising to A2 with good chances for high. Perhaps too tight.

2. How is a nut low draw played with nothing going for high? How about a made low with nothing for high? Here the cost of being quartered is MUCH bigger in pot-limit. With conterfeit protection and without?

3. With a current lock for high, say a straight or top trips, how is this played with a dangerous board, say flush draw and low draw out there? Bet heavy on flop or wait for turn to pull the trigger if your hand is still good?

I know you must know the players, and situations are all different, I'm just looking for general considerations. Thanks in advance.

01-16-2002, 04:09 PM
I'd say if you've got the current lock for high and you have no shot at low,(Trips or Nut straight), on the flop, you should be the one folding if there's a scary board. Here's a situation. Flop is 679 and you've got 89TJ. What do you do when a low comes on the turn and makes two to a suit? You don't want to call a big bet to get your money back. By someone who made the low and turned a flush draw. Wait till you get the low + a decent high and punish those people who'll put it in w/ the current nuts even if your low is already there. I've found that a lot of people will bet the straight to the eight(w/out a good low) very strong even if there's 2 to a flush out, so I just wait for those situations in my home game.

01-17-2002, 02:31 AM