PDA

View Full Version : Pot-limit hand

01-08-2002, 03:53 AM
I played this hand some months ago and think that I made a few knucklehead moves so I decided to post it and get some feedback.

I will give the basic without going into all the ramifications to keep it simple.

Pot-limit Hold'em, 5/10 blinds. It is folded to me in middle position I raise 40 (the max) to go with JJ.

Folded to late position player who is tight and smart. He calls the 40 and rerasies another 80. Everyone else folds and I call his raise.

Pot is approx. $250. I have a little over 2,000 left. My opponent has me well covered.

Flop is Jack 8 9 rainbow. I check. (thinking check raise). Opponent also checks (this surprized me considering his reraise before the flop).

Turn is a Queen. No flush draw possible.

I bet 200. He quickly calls and reraises 200. I initially hang him on Ace/Queen suited and while calling the 200 announce that I would reraise. As I studied the board cards again I make a snap decision. I reraise another 1,000 (about the size of the pot).

My opponent's eyebrows twitched a bit - he ponders maybe 10 seconds and then mucks his cards.

A few random thoughts-

If my initially assessment was correct I probably should have just called and tried to bleed more money from him since his outs are few and I can still improve? Was the reraise a bit much? (oh yeah) Straight possiblities? He would not reraise me preflop without very powerful cards. Anyway, have at me and keep the idiot comments to a minimum.

01-08-2002, 04:32 AM
Due to the stack sizes you should bet the flop so that if he raises you can set him in. I doubt that he raised you on the turn with AQ. You are representing a straight with your bet on the turn. When he raises you on the turn he either has the straight or is running a bluff. He probably had AK.

01-08-2002, 01:47 PM
great play.

01-08-2002, 01:55 PM