PDA

View Full Version : Yep!! I screwed this one up..........

11-29-2001, 05:53 PM
I was playing in a .25-.25 blind NLHE home game over the weekend when this hand came up. Buy in is $5 min $20 max, I had around $7 and was covered by all but the 2nd blind. There hadn't been much preflop raising, so I decided to limp UTG with 88. Six players seen the flop which was 8h5c3c. Blinds checked and I checked hoping to move-in on someone. All players checked and the turn card was 2c. The blinds and I again checked, the player to my left bet .75 and everyone folded to me I called hoping to fill up. The river was a blank, I check-called a $2.00 bet and was shown A4o. I know I screwed up this hand in major way. My question is on the flop. Do I move in with a small stack with 3 players left to act, hoping they think I have the flush draw and call? What if the flop had been 8hAc3c? Would this have been the spot for a check-raise all-in? Any help on this would be appreciated as I'm a newbie to big-bet.

11-29-2001, 06:03 PM
With 2 clubs on the flop I would bet $2 which leaves you $5 to bet on the turn.

Ken Poklitar

11-29-2001, 08:10 PM
Bet the pot or maybe $2 on the flop. Don't slowplay with a two suited board and all low cards here. If your opponents are drawing or have no pair they might take a free card. Plus, too many scare cards can come on the turn and kill your initiative (as it happened you went from thinking you hit a good hand to thinking you needed to fill up). In No Limit it is very important to pull the trigger when it looks favorable so as to not talk yourself out of it later. Use the No Limit structure to make it more difficult for people to draw out on you as well. Your hand is quite good but vulnerable. Try to win the pot on the flop or at least make them put in a large bet to chase you.

KJS

11-30-2001, 11:37 PM
With big-bet, even more than in other forms of poker, the answer is, "It depends."