PDA

View Full Version : First time poster -- Newbie question about counting outs

rgrouch
10-04-2004, 06:26 PM
Hello,

I'm pretty new to the game, and I have what is most likely a stupid question about counting outs. However, I'm going to ask it anyway because that's how i find you learn fastest -- by getting the dumb questions out of the way.

Anyway, here it is: When you are counting outs, do you count all outs that will make you a hand, or only the outs that give you the best shot of making the best hand?

For example, if I have J /images/graemlins/diamond.gif 10 /images/graemlins/heart.gif

and the board is: 8 /images/graemlins/heart.gif A /images/graemlins/heart.gif 6 /images/graemlins/diamond.gif K /images/graemlins/club.gif

In the above scenario, would I count 6 outs for the possibility of making pairs (even though they would likely not be top pair) plus 4 outs for the gut shot straight draw for a total of 10? Or would I only count my straight draw outs for a total of 4?

Thanks for any insight provided.

Praxx
10-04-2004, 06:32 PM
Q /images/graemlins/heart.gif makes a flush, so it might be dirty .. so 3, maybe 3.5 outs for your straight. I doubt pairing will help you much - depending on the action you've seen though; but it is likely there is already a pair of aces or kings in play. I wouldn't count them.

sammy_g
10-04-2004, 06:35 PM
You count outs to the likely best hand because it only costs you money if you make a second best hand. In your example, you have to assume someone has an ace or a king, so you only have 4 outs. The pot better be laying you 10.5:1 to call a bet.