PDA

View Full Version : Being an Online Professional/Full Time College Student Week 2-3

Danny "DTM" Marx
10-03-2004, 09:02 PM
I have decided to partake in a David Ross like experiment. I am a sophomore at the University of Colorado at Boulder and have been playing online poker for a little over a year now from the micro limits to NL 200 and a little beyond. Because I have had to spend most of my bankroll I have always had to go back down to NL 25 and restart my bankroll many times. I deposited $500 into empire with a rake back deal and have decided not to cash out and make my bankroll grow and move up limits accordingly. The purpose is to see how successful a standard solid poker player can be at turning a small bankroll into a 5 digit figure and beyond roll in a relatively short period of time having a normal college life to attend to.

The week of September 8th-15th I earned $300 including my bonuses. Incase you missed last week (search The David Ross experience week 1); I decided to have another $500 bankroll at Full Tilt, effectively giving me two bankrolls. The Empire bankroll is the bankroll where I must have 20x the buy-in for NL ring games to enter the game. In the Full Tilt bankroll, I can sit at whatever table I feel is juicy within reason. After last week’s games, my week of settling down for my midterms and papers hit me in a flash. It was worse because I had missed so much class the two weeks before. I played some poker in between week 1 and week 2 reports, but not very much. I also decided to cash out of Zerorake for good unless the site gets bigger. Going into week 2, my bankrolls are as follows:

Empire: $685.61
Full Tilt: $814.60