PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question

AriesRam
10-03-2004, 11:47 AM
.50/1.00 Paradise NL.

Opponent is UTG+2 has $45, and I have him covered. He seems like a pretty solid player.

Villian open raises to $3. Two callers, and I am the button with A /images/graemlins/club.gif Q /images/graemlins/club.gif. I call, the rest fold.

Flop comes 8 /images/graemlins/club.gif 6 /images/graemlins/heart.gif 2 /images/graemlins/club.gif. Villian bets $4, folded to me and I raise to $12. Villian pushes and I call.

Like I said, I am pretty new to NL and any feedback would be appreciated.

Kaz The Original
10-03-2004, 11:56 AM
If he would do it with just one pair, it's fine. If he wouldn't with anything less than two pair, it's horrible. Depends on your definition of solid I suppose : )

AriesRam
10-03-2004, 12:16 PM
We hadn't been playing together long enough for me to have a real solid read on him, he just hadn't done anything noticeably stupid. Although you have to consider who was doing the noticing. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Anyway, when he pushed, I put him on an overpair. I am used to limit, where I try to train myself not to see monsters. I thought I had at least 12 outs twice.

LokiV
10-03-2004, 04:59 PM
You have the odds to call the flop bet.

If you believe he has an overpair, why do you feel the need to push right then? You will be called then, you do have 9-12 outs probably. His strength in the worst case scenario represents AA or a set. At best JJ.

I'm curious as to whether this was the right play or not. I generally do not know... but I don't make a habit of pushing all in without an edge or out of necessity.

Tilt
10-04-2004, 02:38 PM
My comments, for what they are worth....

I don't like your flop raise here. It is too big and it commits you. When he pushes you have to call 38 into a pot of 79. The odds are about right for the call, but is this how you wanted the hand to end up? It might be avoidable.