PDA

View Full Version : Quick Pre-flop ?s

10-25-2001, 12:58 PM
Playing 9 handed NL with two equal blinds. Most everyone has between 80 and 100 times the blinds, some a bit less. I am new to full tabled live NL so am curious how people analyze these pre-flop situations:

1. One early limper, cut-off limps, SB wraps. You are in the BB with AA. Check? Raise? How much? Most importantly, what factors do you consider?

2. Again, one early limper, button limps, you have KK in SB. Check? Raise? How much? Again, what factors do you consider?

Thanks.

KJS

10-25-2001, 04:21 PM
1. One early limper, cut-off limps, SB wraps. You are in the BB with AA. Check? Raise? How much? Most importantly, what factors do you consider?

The most important factor in this situation is stack size. The second most important factor is how your opponents will play. In general, I don't like checking here, ever. If stack sizes are huge, then perhaps. If I'm short-stacked, this is an all-in situation for sure. With a medium stack (like the ones you described), this situation usually calls for a raise big enough to push out weak hands, but small enough to get strong hands to play back at you, or at least call. $100 sounds right. Some people will call $100 with AK and the like. This is what you want.

Again, one early limper, button limps, you have KK in SB. Check? Raise? How much? Again, what factors do you consider?

Same factors of course. One thing to realize is that you should be more willing to push this hand aggressively preflop since you are done with this hand if an ace comes on the flop given that you are first to act.

natedogg

10-25-2001, 04:59 PM
natedogg,

What blind size are you assuming in your answer to #1?

KJS

10-25-2001, 05:41 PM
Whoops! Duh. Sorry.