PDA

View Full Version : some PLH hands

10-20-2001, 10:33 AM
Here are some PLH hands:

blinds are 1-2, full table, stacks around 200-300 mostly, two big stacks with more than a grand, I have about 500.

Hand 1:

I raise AKo from middle position, one caller behind me. Flop is KQx, twotone. I bet the pot, he calls.

Turn KQxT, no flush. I check, he checks.

River comes K.

What s my play?

Hand 2:

I raise with AA UTG, two callers. Flop 772, I bet, one caller. we both have big stacks. Turn wonderful A, I bet, he still calls. River 7.

whats my play?

Hand 3:

I raise late position with AKo, one caller, BB calls. FLop comes AJ9 two tone. I bet, he calls. Turn 7 offsuit. I bet, he raises.

?

I am relatively new to PLH, although I have some PL experience, mostly Omaha and Omaha8 in Europe.

So far I am losing at PLH, due to a horrible start with awful plays. The games I play in have a lot of players cold calling pot raises preflop with hands like KTo or AJo, practically no reraises preflop and lots of hands like J4s, that will raise their flushes against two opponents. So in my opinion, I see lots of mistakes they make that I would not make. Still, I am having trouble beating the games. I tend to have a tough time with hands like Hand 1 and 3.

Any advice will be appreciated (Natedogg?)

Stephan

10-22-2001, 02:10 PM
Hand #1, check-call to induce a bluff and pay off the least if you are losing. If you know the player well, you can adjust based on that. i.e. if he NEVER bluffs on the river, check-fold. If he has even the slightest propensity to bet when checked to on the river, check-call is your most profitable move here. If he is an absolute passive calling station who simply will not raise without the nuts, bet.

Hand #2, Bet the river, he probably has an ace or possibly even a pocket pair bigger than 7.