PDA

View Full Version : NL vs PL, and how to learn

10-02-2001, 10:48 PM
I have a few questions. Let me preface my questions by saying I'm new to the game -- I've been playing for maybe 3-4 months when I can, online and locally with friends. I've read a bunch of books, including HPFAP and ToP, Caro's Fundamentals, one of Krieger's Excellence books. I also have been playing Turbo Texas Hold'em and Tournament Texas Hold'em. So I'm a newbie, but a relatively strong newbie. Obviously, since my in person play is of short duration and against just friends in the neighborhood, this isn't that relevent, but I have done very well in the games I've played in. (Up several hundred $ in NL games, and probably several hundred from 2/4 limit games as well)

First, I'm wondering what differences to think about in PL vs NL play. I've had some marginal 'intro' experience with NL, playing some .20/.40 NL with $50 buyins. Assuming for a moment that I can hold my own in a NL game but have no experience with PL, what differences should I be aware of if I play a PL game?

Second, I'm not really sure I CAN hold my own in a NL game (or a PL). Is it the experience of players here that a NL/PL player is significantly tougher than a mid-high limit structured player, like someone playing 30-60?

Third, any resources for more tips on PL/NL? There seems to be a dearth of reading material and such, although I've been reading this board for as long as I've been playing, and have found the posts here very helpful (thanks nate! /images/wink.gif). But I'm trying to climb the learning curve as fast as possible. Which leads me to...

Fourth, should I just be avoiding PL/NL until I have more real-world limit experience?