PDA

View Full Version : 1/2 6max newbie - Questions and a hand i'm sure i played wrong.

Peter Harris
09-30-2004, 08:44 AM
Hi all, I am new to shorthanded play. The most cursory knowledge of it i have from tourneys.

Questions - where may i read a decent outline of preflop raising/limping hands? I am aware of the broad strokes of "high cards/pairs more important than connected/suited hands", but would be more comfortable with a notable source on PF play. I know i need to raise plenty and have higher VP$IP than full ring, and the deviation will be greater, but i'd love more solid advice.

Here's a hand from my first session. Comments would be most appreciated.

Party Poker 1/2 Hold'em (6 max, 5 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Preflop: Hero is BB with Q/images/graemlins/heart.gif, J/images/graemlins/spade.gif.
UTG calls, MP folds, Button folds, SB completes, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises</font>, UTG calls, SB calls.

too loose PFR??

Flop: (6 SB) 4/images/graemlins/spade.gif, 6/images/graemlins/spade.gif, T/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="blue">(3 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="CC3333">Hero bets</font>, UTG calls, SB calls.

should i do this??

Turn: (4.50 BB) 6/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="blue">(3 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="CC3333">Hero bets</font>, UTG calls, SB calls.

too aggressive?

River: (7.50 BB) K/images/graemlins/spade.gif <font color="blue">(3 players)</font>
SB checks, Hero checks, UTG checks.

should i bet the river with 3rd nut flush?

Final Pot: 7.50 BB
<font color="green">Main Pot: 7.50 BB, between SB, Hero and UTG.</font>

Thanks very much in advance for your book/literature recommendations and hand comments. I look forward to posting here.

Regards,
Pete Harris

Dov
09-30-2004, 09:32 AM
[ QUOTE ]
Preflop: Hero is BB with Q/images/graemlins/heart.gif, J/images/graemlins/spade.gif.