PDA

View Full Version : Short-Handed in NL Hold'em - Best Strategy to Adopt?

Scotch
09-28-2004, 07:30 AM
I started playing poker about three months ago. With the exception of one live game, I tend to play low-stake NL Hold'em on the internet both tournaments and cash games.

Recently, I have done well in single-table tournaments on Paradise and expect to be in-the-money around 1 game in every 2 or 3. Usually these games commence with a flurry of betting as players gamble the majority of their chips with less than optimum hands, hoping to get lucky with the board. I try to stay out of these early battles without a premium hand. As the tournament progresses, I drop my standards gradually and seem to come out quite well. However, in several cases, I have been down to the final two and feel that I have completely lost control of the game. I have no idea what cards to play, whether to raise and whether to call. I have won a number of single-table games but cannot help thinking that in the majority of these cases, I have been lucky rather than clever - I may as well have called, raised and folded randomly. Can any of the more seasoned players out there give me a few pointers to strengthen my end-game?

Advice much appreciated.

Scotch

exist
09-28-2004, 07:51 AM
i'm not much of a no-limit player, but i suggest you read "Tournament Poker For Advanced Players" by David Sklansky for tournament specific advice. for material focused on no-limit poker (rather than tourneys) read "Pot Limit and No Limit Poker" by Bob Ciaffone and Stewart Reuben. also "How Good is Your Pot Limit Holdem?" by Stewart Reuben has many useful points since no limit and pot limit are quite similar in many situations.

in addition, try posting some hands that you have trouble with in the tournament sections of 2+2.

ethan
09-28-2004, 08:33 AM