PDA

View Full Version : First 10,000 hands - a introspective look at low limti poker progress

pokerstudAA
09-26-2004, 05:54 PM
I started playing online a few months ago. I deposited $50 into party poker and studied up on limit poker. I was playing one table at a time at this point. After the first $50 nearly ran out playing .50/$1 I had a nice run played 447 hands saw 47% of the flops and played my ass off. I won $100 in that session and got the account up to about $125. After some studying and focus I got the bankroll up to about $300. I went ahead and took my initial deposit of $50 and had a check mailed for $75 – juicy poker profit. I kept fairly decent notes at this point and had played about 90 sessions and played about 6,000 hands. The bankroll was fluctuating between about $150 and $250. I went ahead and bought poker tracker to see if I could get a better handle on some of this.

Then I started playing the $10 SNG's for a few months. . That got my roll up around the $300-$400 range. After a dip down below $200 I had a nice run and was up to about $400.

I finally made the switch back to limit when these boards convinced me to buy SSH. After reading that and a few other hold em' books I have logged more than 10,000 hands at both the .50/1 and 1/2 tables.

When the account hit about $600 I removed $125 – juicy poker profit! As I write the BR is up to $1250.

So far....

334 SNG's ($10 limit, NL, and one accidental pot-limit, and a few $20's)
Net $394

ROI 16.05%
Fin in $: 38.73%

1st - 51
2nd - 36
3rd - 38

I like SNG's but realized that the time and focus these games took were not really worth the time I invested. My concentration level needed to be much higher to do well and I could only play one game at a time. I started playing two at once with staggered starts but this wasn’t that great either. .

I had played some limit previously and had an interesting ride.

Pre PT:
90 sessions
6,000 hands
Starting BR: $50 + $10 bonus
Ending BR: $190