PDA

View Full Version : Playing flushes

janeg
09-24-2004, 11:05 AM
Hi All ... I am a rank newbie (only started playing in June); played my first real-money game (if you can call .02/.04 real money /images/graemlins/wink.gif ) yesterday on Poker Stars. From what I can see, using Poker Tracker and after analyzing my play to date I am (sad to say) pretty much tight/weak/passive. I know I need to be more aggressive but have difficulty recognizing just when I should be.

These are two flush hands I played yesterday; 1 I won, the other I lost. I would really appreciate advice on how such situation are best played. I'd only been at the table approx 1hr and only had a read on two players. Neither of them were in the 1st hand

PokerStars 0.02/0.04 Hold'em (10 handed) converter (http://www.selachian.com/tools/bisonconverter/hhconverter.cgi)

Preflop: Hero is UTG+1 with Q/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, Q/images/graemlins/heart.gif. MP3 posts a blind of $0.02.
<font color="666666">1 fold</font>, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises</font>, UTG+2 calls, MP1 calls, <font color="666666">1 fold</font>, MP3 (poster) calls, <font color="666666">1 fold</font>, Button calls, SB calls, BB calls.

Flop: (14 SB) 3/images/graemlins/club.gif, 9/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 8/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="blue">(7 players)</font>
<font color="CC3333">SB bets</font>, BB folds, Hero calls, UTG+2 calls, MP1 folds, MP3 calls, <font color="CC3333">Button raises</font>, SB calls, Hero calls, UTG+2 calls, MP3 calls.

Think I should have raised vs bet on the flop and then re-raised the button; had a pair higher than the board w/back door draw to possible nut flush. At the time I didn't think 2 pair although I should have with a 9,8 on the board as many people play connectors. Does that possiblity make a call ok or is it better to raise and see who calls?

Turn: (12 BB) 7/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="blue">(5 players)</font>