PDA

View Full Version : Implied Odds

Mojo, The Programmer
09-23-2004, 05:21 PM
I'm fairly new to poker.

I'd like to think I'm not a moron, but unfortunately, poker has proven otherwise more times than I'd like to admit. /images/graemlins/wink.gif

I've heard the term Implied Odds... and I'd really like to know a little more about how they work in any particular hand.

Can anyone give me a little help here?

Seether
09-23-2004, 05:22 PM
Implied odds are essentially bets that you feel you will get if you were to make your hand which would make up for making an incorrect call based on pot odds alone

LDWills
09-23-2004, 05:42 PM
I may be wrong, if so someone please correct me.
At the turn the pot is $200, you are planning to bet $50, and you are sure at least one other person will call. If this happens, the pot would have an implied value of $250 instead of $200. This would give you implied pot odds of 5to1. In order to bet, your odds of making your hand should be no less than 4to1. If your bet was $100 instead of $50 the implied odds would go to 6to1.

Dominic
09-23-2004, 06:46 PM
here's an example:

You're playing a 10-20 game, you hold 10/9s and you see the flop with 3 others...so there is $40 in the pot (more if the blinds folded). The flop comes 2-8-J with one spade. Okay. One guy bets, another calls, the third folds and now it's up to you: you've got an open-ended straight draw and a backdoor flush draw. There's now $60 in the pot, so you do your math and you find that you are approx. 6-1 to make your straight on the turn - the pot odds are there - barely - so you call $10 for the chance to win $60.

So far so good. On the turn, a 3 of clubs hits. One guy bets, the other calls and now it's up to you again: There's now $110 in the pot. For you to call $20, you have to have 6-1 on your money, but you don't now, do you?

6x20=120

You have to call $20 to try and win the $110 that's in the pot right now, so considering pot odds, you should fold, right?