PDA

View Full Version : Mindless 25NL 10max Strategy

cagedman
09-23-2004, 11:00 AM
*repost* I botched this and posted in small stakes accidentally :-)

I'm looking to design a profitable system (not necessarily maximally profitable) for a friend (total novice) that would be idiot proof until he got a better feel for the game/made his way through the standard literature, how would you do it? Think it's possible? The small stakes folks seem 'skeptical' at best :-)

I think this is my rough idea so far... what do you guys think? The unpaired hands are harder to provide a rubric for.

Only following hands played PF: 22-AA, AK, AQ, KQ.

Preflop:

Pairs 2-JJ: Limp or call minraise only.

Pairs QQ-AA: Raise 6xbb. If reraised, reraise pot with AA or KK, call up to pot sized bet with QQ.

AK, KQ, AQ: Call up to a 6xbb PF raise; if not raised, raise to 6xbb PF. Fold to reraise.

Postflop:

AA-QQ:

AA- Pot it every action.
KK- Pot it every action. (?? what is A hits?)
QQ- Fold if A or K hit on flop, else pot every action.

22-JJ: If hit trips, pot every action, else checkfold.

AK, KQ, AQ: Paired the board: Bet pot every street, else check-fold.

What do you guys think?

Any other simple caveats required to avoid huge -EV moves? Maybe if flop is monotone and have none of suit, checkfold in every situation? These are obviously sub-optimal plays, just looking for a way to make entering pots with those 16 hands +EV overall.

josie_wales
09-23-2004, 11:44 AM
Id say just focus on two things with him, rather than specific starting hands.

(1) Positon and its importance in determining what to play.
(2) Hands that you want more people in/Hands you want less people in.

jw

Ghazban
09-23-2004, 12:29 PM