PDA

View Full Version : Threw away AK too late?

rickw
09-22-2004, 03:08 AM
I am pretty new to Poker and have been having fun (still losing a bit but improving) and learning. After going through my hands, I have come to the conclusion that I hang on to losers too long.

My question: Looking back, am I correct to conclude that the bet on the turn was a mistake? Any and all comments appreciated.

Party Poker 0.50/1 Hold'em (9 handed)

Preflop: Hero is UTG+1 with A/images/graemlins/spade.gif, K/images/graemlins/club.gif.
UTG calls, <font color="CC3333">Hero raises</font>, MP1 folds, MP2 folds, MP3 calls, CO folds, Button folds, SB calls, BB calls, UTG calls.

Flop: (10 SB) 4/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 5/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, 3/images/graemlins/club.gif <font color="blue">(5 players)</font>
SB checks, BB checks, UTG checks, <font color="CC3333">Hero bets</font>, MP3 calls, SB calls, BB calls, UTG folds.

Turn: (7 BB) 4/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="blue">(4 players)</font>
SB checks, BB checks, <font color="CC3333">Hero bets</font>, MP3 folds, SB calls, <font color="CC3333">BB raises</font>, Hero folds, SB calls.

River: (12 BB) 5/images/graemlins/heart.gif <font color="blue">(2 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="CC3333">BB bets</font>, SB folds.

Final Pot: 13 BB

cold_cash
09-22-2004, 03:24 AM
I would check and fold the turn here. I doubt you have the best hand I seriously doubt you're going to fold the field. Add to that the fact that you can't know where you are even if you catch an Ace, a 2, or a King, and I'm thinking it's time to cut your losses.

Your Ace outs aren't looking too snazzy with this board, and you're drawing really slim if anyone has a 4. Your only hope in that instance is to catch a 2 (which might only be a split), and even then you lose to any 6.