PDA

View Full Version : Why Party Trumps Person

juanez
09-19-2004, 10:16 PM
I'm sort of tired of people saying "I'm an Independent", like it's an authentic political affiliation of some kind. And it usually comes with a smug "I'm above the fray because I'm not swayed by the politics of the 2 major parties" kind of attitude. Bullsh*t. I agreee with Mike's analysis below. Yes, there are several Minor Parties (http://www.dcpoliticalreport.com/PartyLink.htm#NL) with the word "Independent" in their name, but there isn't a significant national "Independant Party" that I'm aware of.

The author is Mike Rosen, Denver Post columnist and radio talk show host on 850 KOA: Mike Rosen (http://www.850koa.com/shows/rosen/party-trumps-person.html#trumps)

Why Party Trumps Person
August 13, 2004

With just 80 days to go before the election, it's time for my quadrennial column on party vs. person. I've been offering and updating this polemic for more than 20 years. For veteran voters, this may be review; for rookies, perhaps, a new concept.

A time-honored cliche heard every election year goes something like this: "I'm an independent thinker; I vote the person, not the party." This pronouncement is supposed to demonstrate open-mindedness and political sophistication on the part of the pronouncer. It's your vote, cast it any way you like - or not at all. But idealism and naivete about the way our electoral process and system of government works shouldn't be mistaken for wisdom or savvy.

For better or worse, we have a two-party system. And party trumps person. Either a Republican, George W. Bush, or a Democrat, John Kerry, is going to be elected president in November. No one else has a chance.