PDA

View Full Version : 2+2 Publishing - I have an idea for you

ipp147
09-19-2004, 04:19 PM
Apologies if this has been suggested before.

Have you ever considered publishing a book that is basically a collection of the best posts within this site. I presume all you need is the posters approval and other than that its cheap to make.

Most people find books easier to reference over and over (rather than finding a post) and people probably miss lots of the best posts on here due to sheer numbers.

you guys ever discussed this before?

David Sklansky
09-19-2004, 05:52 PM
Seems like a good idea to me. But I think it might entail more work than you suspect.

ipp147
09-19-2004, 06:06 PM
[ QUOTE ]
Seems like a good idea to me. But I think it might entail more work than you suspect.

[/ QUOTE ]

I don't doubt it, I have very little knowledge on the publishing industry.

If you had the different forum's (poker theory,MTT's) as the chapters and just had the each post with no additional text it might not have to be as structured and/or time consuming.

All the best
ipp147

Bob Moss
09-19-2004, 10:51 PM
I'm not too familiar with the contract between posters and the site, so maybe it doesn't apply here, but I remember a few years ago slashdot.org publishing (or maybe just attempting to?) comments responding to an article about Columbine, and some people got upset, but then apparently the poster didn't need to give their permission to have their posts published.

Bob

Richard Berg
09-19-2004, 10:58 PM
According to the 2+2 TOS, posters retain most rights to their writings. Most other forums (probably including /.), though, say that either your posts become property of that website or that you grant an unlimited license for them to use it or similar.

SossMan
09-20-2004, 01:17 AM
isn't this more or less what Greg's book will be like?

Shoe Lace
09-20-2004, 05:44 AM