PDA

View Full Version : yo, Mason

01-31-2002, 12:02 AM
I just read Poker Essays III. One essay I would like to hear more about is Comparing the Rake on page 100. It sounds to me like you are saying that the reason the rake isn't too high in California is because if you lived there you would be working as a prop. Did I get this right? What about those of us who aren't props (or hosts, which is better yet)? Are we suckers for paying the high collections?

Just wondering.

01-31-2002, 02:04 AM
Many years ago when the Bike first opened I worked as a silent prop on the weekends for about three months. For those who don't know a silent prop is someone who acts like a regular customer but he has an agreement with the cardroom to play a certain number of hours in a certain game. It can be a pretty sweet deal.

My point was that I, being famous in the world of poker, would probably have some sort of deal like that in LA if I still lived there and wanted to play a lot of poker.

As for you, I doubt if you're a sucker since I assume that you win. But you are certainly paying more than your fair share of rake. Furthermore, if the rake was distributed more equitably, my bet is that it would be very good for the long term growth of poker. But in the short run it could cause a shortage of games.

By the way, in the future, posts like this should go on our new "News, Views, & Gossip" forum.

Best wishes,

Mason

01-31-2002, 07:18 PM
why not on books/software..???question about vol iii...or other topics???

02-01-2002, 12:24 AM
I don't think a question about rakes is gossip. Maybe you misunderstood my intention, but I seriously wanted a clarification of your opinion on the rakes in CA. Do you think they are too high because of the props, or are they just what the market will bear?

02-01-2002, 06:13 AM