PDA

View Full Version : Standard hand for Guido, yet not so for a beginning 6-max player

Peter
09-15-2004, 04:17 PM
Guido, regular poster in this shorthanded forum, is a good friend of mine. We have lots of discussions about poker. Since his move to shorthanded games I have been acting as his psychiatric consultant, hearing him whine about the bad beats but also share in the joy that a table with only 5 fish, instead of 9, brings.
One of the hands he told me about this evening had me feeling like someone who has no clue about poker, because I know he plays well, yet I would have played it different. Keep in mind, that I just started playing 6 max and I started at 1/2. Also, compared to Guido, I'm probably a little weakthight and the only things I know about 6 max are the following: be more agressive than in a full ring game, big cards go up in value, pairs go up in value. That's about it.

When Guido told me the hand, he didn't tell anything about the opponent, so assume no reads:

Party Poker 10/20 Hold'em (6 max, 6 handed)

Preflop: Guido is BB with K/images/graemlins/diamond.gif, J/images/graemlins/diamond.gif.
UTG folds, MP folds, CO folds, Button folds, <font color="CC3333">SB raises</font>, <font color="CC3333">Guido 3-bets</font>, SB calls.

Flop: (6 SB) 7/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 9/images/graemlins/heart.gif, 8/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="blue">(2 players)</font>
SB checks, <font color="CC3333">Guido bets</font>, <font color="CC3333">SB raises</font>, Guido calls.

Turn: (5 BB) 9/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="blue">(2 players)</font>
<font color="CC3333">SB bets</font>, <font color="CC3333">Guido raises</font>, <font color="CC3333">SB 3-bets</font>, Guido calls.

River: (11 BB) Q/images/graemlins/diamond.gif <font color="blue">(2 players)</font>
<font color="CC3333">SB bets</font>, <font color="CC3333">Guido raises</font>, <font color="CC3333">SB 3-bets</font>, Guido calls.

Final Pot: 17 BB