PDA

View Full Version : Emotional Damage From Repeated 4th Place Finishes

In Paradise
09-15-2004, 06:48 AM
Anyone ever have that? I have been playing SNGs for about 8 months on a regular basis. I have won every month. I have been playing online ring games for 12 months and have been ahead at the end of every month. So I am confident in my talent, but the stretch I am in now is hurting bad. And yes, I am actually ahead for this month too. Only about 20% ROI (my 8 month avg is 32%), but I am still ahead. But I have finished 4th in 11 of the last 13 tourneys that I missed the money.
I'm sure others have had similar streaks and some even worse. How did it effect you? When I had 12 out of 13 out of the money not so long ago, I actually took that better than this streak of 4th place finsihes when I miss the money. I lost more money in the other streak, but this one hurts more. I guess there is just something about getting that close to the money every tourney (which means my game is probably ok) and then going out losing a race or a 60-40 situation every time!
Oh, well. I don't have many friends that actually play poker and I just had to vent.

stripsqueez
09-15-2004, 10:02 AM
those are some nasty streaks - i'm obviously a novice when having played 3-400 SNG's my record is 6 out of the money

playing touneys is a lot about being flexible - tight early, mad late - big stack/short stack - optimum for on-line SNG's i figure its simply a more common state for good players to be short stacked late so 4th and 5th spot are going to be frequent

stripsqueez - chickenhawk

rachelwxm
09-15-2004, 12:06 PM
take it easy. Assume u have ITM 40%, the chance that u are out of money 12/13 is 13*.6^12*.4 = 1.1%! So it should happens once for 100 t you play on average .

chill888
09-15-2004, 12:17 PM
[ QUOTE ]
take it easy. Assume u have ITM 40%, the chance that u are out of money 12/13 is 13*.6^12*.4 = 1.1%! So it should happens once for 100 t you play on average .

[/ QUOTE ]