PDA

View Full Version : Dan Krier - Russ Bailey Guide to limit HE - help me review!

dogmeat
09-14-2004, 04:25 PM
Dan Krier, a poker-playing writer attending USC's School of Cinema-Television and working on his Master's Degree, met a man named Russ Bailey last year and over a period of seven months took down his life-history of poker knowledge. Dan was kind enough to send me a free copy of his book.

(Could somebody that knows how please link this to the "General" forum, it is too good not to share there?)

The book is 8x11 pages, folded-over to provide 100 pages. In the text, Dan states: "Yeah, I'm a writer. Probably the only thing I'm good at."

Dan is not an editor, nor was one used before production of the book. If you don't mind the problems that are inherent to books written without an editor, you will read the following strategies and Life Lessons from Russ Bailey:

"Never Raise before the Flop" - Why? Because "It's no secret that the ultimate goal of poker is deception"

"Take it to the Flop" If you flop a gutshot draw and call to the turn, but don't hit it, if there is a bet on the turn "you should always fold in this case".

The ranking of pocket cards includes high-rank which includes AA,KK on down to offsuit kj, kt and qt, but not JJ, "because a queen,king or ace could appear on the board and ruin your hand. Of course you should call before the flop with a pocket pair most of the time, (but) it all depends on how you're feeling at that particular time."

And my favorite: "The strongest mid-rank pocket cards involve anthing containing an ace or a king. Even K-2 offsuit is worth calling most of the time.

Suited cards: "Even 3-2 same suit should be called most of the time."

Strategy #52 - Do not check-raise after the River

Strategy #53 Use "Slow Play" as your game's backbone"