PDA

View Full Version : Anyone watch Card Sharks?

ddubois
09-12-2004, 08:17 AM
They play old reruns of this game show (http://www.tvtome.com/tvtome/servlet/ShowMainServlet/showid-3468/) from the 70s/80s on Game Show Network on cable. I rememebr enjoying this show when I was a kid. But It's much more interesting to watch now that I have some gambling background. In fact, the money phase reminds me of some stuff I read in TPFAP! - something about playing/passong on small +EV edges that risk your ability to participate in opportunities for larger +EV plays later. I'm not a game show afficiando, but this seems like a pretty good one.

PS: It's also intersting to see the risk aversion at work. I just saw a woman bet on the last card 2000 of her 2300 that the next card would be higher. When I was a kid, that probably seemed reasonable, but now I would never pass up a chance to get 6:1 on my money for that last 300!

Homer
09-12-2004, 09:16 AM
PS: It's also intersting to see the risk aversion at work. I just saw a woman bet on the last card 2000 of her 2300 that the next card would be higher. When I was a kid, that probably seemed reasonable, but now I would never pass up a chance to get 6:1 on my money for that last 300!

Kelly Criterion says that for optimal bankroll growth you should bet an amount proportional to your advantage. Here, you're getting even money on a bet that you have a 6/7 (85.7%) chance of winning, so you should bet 85.7% of your 2300 bankroll, or $1971. So, $2000 seems about right.

That being said, I'm not sure how well this applies to something like Card Sharks, since at most you will only have a few opportunities to play the game.

-- Homer

Senor Choppy
09-12-2004, 03:12 PM
She isn't concerned with protecting a bankroll, which is only a priority if you're concerned with making future +EV wagers. It isn't applicable at all to this type of game show.

She should've bet it all unless she needed that $300 to eat.

mike l.
09-12-2004, 11:55 PM