PDA

View Full Version : collusion for online games?

snowlarbear
09-12-2004, 01:48 AM
saw this mentioned in a post about PacPoker... are there many instances of collusion in online games? if so, how badly can it hurt your odds?

KenProspero
09-12-2004, 10:53 PM
If it's there, collusion can kill you.

Two players playing in tandem (i.e., communicating what cards they have to each other). One with a weak hand can push up the pot whenever the other has a strong hand.

As to your other question, I'm sure there's some, but have no idea how much. Advice, if you see something that doesn't smell right, leave the table

Webster
09-13-2004, 07:23 AM
I've been playing for 3 years at least 15 hours a week and I've ONLY seen collusion (as far as I know) 2 or 3 times and all 3 at Pacific.

Pacific has a core of players that are always there (sort of like a club) and while there are a ton of passive fish there are always a group of "known" tight players there.

I've never seen "known" collusion elsewhere. Perhaps software si to fast to colluse at REAL places.

snowlarbear
09-13-2004, 11:40 AM
hmm thanks.. so thats why i keep losing all my money.

adamstewart
09-13-2004, 12:50 PM
I didn't see a smiley face of anything, so I can't assume you're being sarcastic.

Either way, I doubt collusion is the major cause of your poker losses.

snowlarbear
09-13-2004, 04:40 PM
yeah, i wish it was. many holes to patch up on this money leaking ship.

benkath1
09-14-2004, 10:07 AM
While we are on the subject, I don't suppose you see it at lower levels? Under a buck in limits. And when you do, how do you pick up on it? I am playing at pacific ($10 sign on bonus, so none of my own money) and have heard this before.

wdbaker
09-15-2004, 05:41 PM
[ QUOTE ]
While we are on the subject, I don't suppose you see it at lower levels? Under a buck in limits. And when you do, how do you pick up on it? I am playing at pacific ($10 sign on bonus, so none of my own money) and have heard this before.

[/ QUOTE ]