PDA

View Full Version : What makes someone officially a 2+2er?

nolanfan34
09-11-2004, 02:38 AM
Plenty of people sign on here, post, lurk, etc. And while we all consider ourselves 2+2ers, I always wonder what you REALLY have to do to know you belong as a member of this forum.

I think I graduated to this tonight.

I mostly play online, but went to the Muckleshoot in suburban Seattle today for the first time, to play some 2-4 or 4-8. During my 5 hours there, I suffered pretty much the definition of a "downswing variance". The tables were great - an average flop at 2-4 would be 8 people calling and me folding. Even after sitting there folding for a half hour, when I would come in with a raise I wouldn't even knock a single person out. No fold em hold em at its finest.

And while the table conditions were perfect, I was getting beat down time and time again. AK-AJ missing the flop, mid PP's seeing big broadway flops, Ace-suited limpers not catching a single suit, etc.

Yet while this was happening, I found that I wasn't getting upset at all about it. I was playing the best poker I could, without mistakes. The cards just weren't falling my way at all.

And while I sat there watching the guy to my left rake in another pot with his K4o, which became the best hand when he caught a K on the river, I realized that my lack of tilting, like I would previously be prone to do, had a lot to do with everything I read here on a daily basis. I was able to think about each hand in terms of the long run - nothing more. Sure I would have liked to have been in the black and not the red, but watching the people at my table play horribly I was thankful that people like this are out there, and they aren't ashamed to chase their bottom pair to the river. I know I can beat them in the long run.

Maybe I do understand this stuff after all. Maybe I am a 2+2er...