PDA

View Full Version : Computer Help on the internet (laptop wireless acting screwy)

MicroBob
09-10-2004, 10:50 PM
I'll probably try a local 'come to your home' computer-repair place....but I was curious if anyone knew of any good computer help via the internet (or phone) sites.

My problem: My wireless doesn't work sometimes at the coffee-place I go to (I don't have wireless at home).
It says signal is good (or excellent) but no connection is detected when I try to go to a site.
This problem comes and goes. I've been battling it for a few months.
Everything had been good for a few weeks, but recently it's been very touch and go.

Tonight, for example, everything was fine and dandy with my connection, then the internet-connection stalled for a few seconds and I couldn't get back on at all even though it said my connection was good.

I've tried messing with various settings and rebooting and wasn't able to re-establish it. A couple times I've been able to get on after an hour or two but I was uncertain what exactly I did to accomplish this.

On the microsoft-help forums it appeared that I'm not the only one who has this problem with wireless but the advice given didn't seem to work for the others.

Anyone with similar experiences?
I really like sitting on the deck outside with my iced-latte while multi-tabling but I guess that won't be an option for a few days.

Cubswin
09-10-2004, 11:07 PM
MB

I live in a apartment complex and a problem that i have is that there are at least 5 other routers that i pick up at different times. My connection will switch between the different routers causing a temp fail of signal... i think i found the fix to this though. Im not a tech expert but i think this is why i sometimes have connetion issues. This couldnt be the case for you...could it be?