PDA

View Full Version : Poker Research

07-31-2002, 10:38 AM
ok 2+2ers... ive been a longtime reader but i rarely post.... i leave it up to the pros.

well im a masters student in computer science and i have to pick a thesis... well i thougth why not incorporate the game i love. so im fishing for ideas on wut to do research on... but please keep in mind that it has to be a legit masters thesis or else i dont graduate, so please add some intellectual/Artificial intelligence/computer science related theme to your ideas.

hope u guys can help me out... and i can spend the next year doin some cool project where i have a poker bot that learns or soemthing along those lines.

peter

07-31-2002, 04:17 PM
Someone in canada is already doing the learning poker bot thing... so I'd skip that one.

07-31-2002, 07:04 PM
http://www.cs.ualberta.ca/~games/poker/

08-01-2002, 02:33 AM
I am also a master's CS student, but luckily my program doesn't require a final project/thesis of any type.

Anyhow, this is something I started to do, but gave up on.

It may be good for a thesis since it could incorporate AI, compilers, and even some statistics.

Create a rule based HE simulator with the following properties.

Each player would be his/her own object with a set of logical rules. , i.e. If (I have top pair best kicker) and (Bets to me =JQ) or (players hole cards >=98s) then (increment respect upto 80)

My idea for this was that increment would ++ a respect var, but upto would put a limit on the max. An alternative to this was two ratings, tightness and agressiveness. These ratings could then be used in the players decision. For instance

define group 2 AJs ATs JJ TT 99

if (hand = group2) and (respect(raiser(1))

08-01-2002, 09:00 AM
J, did this get cut off, or was that your complete post?

08-01-2002, 04:38 PM
yah ive read about the research in alberta... thanks for your responses, and keep them coming.