PDA

View Full Version : Playing Behind a University Firewall that Chokes Traffic

LuckyStrike
09-08-2004, 12:10 AM
I'm in a bit of distress right now. I started playing poker online this summer. Currently, I'm grinding my way up through the microlimits at Pacific. I came back to the dorms a couple days ago and found that I can no longer play at Pacific because the university firewall restricts traffic so badly that I frequently time out when the action is on me.

So, my question to you guys is: has anyone ever defeated a university firewall for poker playing purposes? I've been reading up, and it seems like I have two choices: begging the network admins to open up the port that Pacific uses or doing some arcane HTTP tunneling crap. Can anyone even tell me what port Pacific and most other gaming sites use for a starting point?

Nemesis
09-08-2004, 02:55 AM
get a dial up connection or move off campus

MiloBloom72
09-08-2004, 11:52 AM
The port is probably already open. If they were blocking the port, you could not get on at all.

They are most likely restricting bandwidth to the dorms in some way. This may be a blanket cap on all bandwidth coming from the dorms--in which case your problem is being caused by your cohorts sucking up all available bandwidth--or they may be using what is know as "bandwidth shaping" to prioritize traffic at different levels. You may or may not have luck with talking to them exactly what they restrict. Have you tried other sites besides Pacific?

RiverMel
09-08-2004, 12:10 PM
Two years ago, I had the same problem with Planet Poker. I would time out quite often, but the access wasn't completely blocked.

As another poster surmised, the port is not blocked because if it were you wouldn't have any access at all.

I never found a solution to this.

daveymck
09-08-2004, 12:38 PM
Do the other sites time out?

If not then the simple solution is change sites and go back to pacific once you move off campus.

NLSoldier
09-08-2004, 01:25 PM