PDA

View Full Version : thinking under pressure

10-27-2001, 07:10 PM
hi...I've just started hanging around here, so I apologize if this has at all been recently covered...I've been playing hold 'em for about three years and have worked my way up from three-six to the ten-twenty level where I feel quite comfortable ability-wise...I think of myself as conservative, tight, mostly typical...I used to be tight/weak when I first started out, but have worked on this tendency a lot and have made good progress...I would say the biggest weakness in my game right now is thinking under pressure...while playing a hand I tend to get a lot of adrenaline with rapid heart beat etc. and this sometimes makes it difficult to think clearly at the very time when it's most needed...this is not nearly as bad as it used to be, but I know that there are times when I don't play as well as I might....does anybody have suggestions?

thanks,

al

10-27-2001, 09:39 PM
How much are you playing? Typically, the easiest way to deal with this is just to play a whole lot, so it gets so routine that you don't get so anxious anymore. If you can't do that, might you at least be able to set aside a couple of weeks to play nearly every day, to see if playing a lot temporarily helps? Otherwise, you may need to look into some slightly more formal methods. Try a google search on "systematic desensitization" or other techniques used by therapists to deal with anxiety or phobias. You may be able to adapt them to use on your own. (No, you're not describing a phobia, but you may be able to use tools used to deal with them to calm the anxiety you're dealing with.)

10-27-2001, 10:09 PM
The best way for me was to start playing the cheap tourns. With this low cost method I was able to practice reads - low chips - hand selection - position and all the other thinqs that make poker great.

10-27-2001, 11:13 PM
al,

If you want to think well at the table, do lots of thinking away from the table.

10-28-2001, 02:03 AM