PDA

View Full Version : starting mistakes

10-25-2001, 02:48 PM
I am new to hold em...been playing less than a year in low limit games. I have been reading WLL, HPFAP, theory of poker, and inside the poker mind. I have been coming away from the table a winner for the most part but have questions about starting hands.

I am playing a very tight and unimaginative game due to my lack of experience. I feel I am playing like a rock. My problems lie in the ability to play the lower grouped hands. Early position with stuff like Q9s or 76s or middle with J8s, etc. Every time I play these it doesn't feel right and I end up losing money on these hands unless of course I make a straight...if I make top pair, 9's with the Q9s for example it seems like it always gets beaten on later rounds.

I realize that each starting hand should be played according to the situation and I feel like I'm playing these in situations that warrant their play ...I just can't figure how to win with them....Maybe I just need more experience or maybe I really don't understand the situations they can be played in...

If someone has any advice on how to get these few more hands into my game I would appreciate it.

Thanks

allan

10-25-2001, 05:24 PM
Hi Allen: I'm pretty much in the same boat being a recent convert to Hold'Em.

Playing like a rock I got tired of being obvious and getting bluffed with junk; that's what bugged me, not so much the desire to be more imaginative

(as long as I won I could care less if I was straight out of paragraph 12 page 89 in HPFAP, or whatever...)

Searching for answers I got caught in the "Don't try fancy plays in low limit" school of thought--which I admit made sense; I mean Q9s in early position, flop a pair of 9's and wonder why you lose?

I know HPFAP reccommends 76s once in a blue moon, But friends that played at $30-60 games assured me that even in these supposedly sophisticated tight/agressive games