PDA

View Full Version : heads up with As-Js

davieb
09-06-2004, 04:35 PM
Just two of us remaining in a table tournament. The blinds were 300/600, 100 ante. Opponent was aggressive and fairly decent during the game and there were only three heads up hands between us prior to this one. I had ~$14,000 in chips to his ~$6,000. Acting first, he raised the same as he had in the previous 2 of 3 hands, about 2X the big blind (this was different from his regular play when he usually varied his opening bets between 3-6 times the BB during the game). I did not have a good feel for what kinds of hands he would play heads up, having seen only one of the previous hands played (J-7 offsuit). In this hand, I had As-Js.

I'm fairly new to playing table tournaments, and aside from how the hand turned out, I had some questions that popped into my mind both before and after the hand. I wanted to get some input on how those more experienced in table tournies would play this hand. Then I'll detail what actually happened to compare it.

Thanks for any input

La Brujita
09-06-2004, 04:44 PM
Basically after his raise there is 2000 in the pot and he has 4700. I move in here against any opponent.

Basically AJs is a monster hand heads up.

The only time I wouldn't push (given the blind structure here) that I can think of off the top of my head is if the opponent folds so often he is basically gifting me the tournament.

My thinking would go something like this:

1. What range of hands is he raising with

2. How does my hand compare to that range of hands

3. What do I estimate my folding equity to be

4. Now that I have decided my hand is probably good should I flat call or what should I raise it up to. I don't slow play a hand like this very often especially out of position for the next rounds.